Photo of the day (Daylight savings edition)

 dogrunweb.jpg

Spring forward, fall behind. How I hate it when we have to turn the clocks ahead one hour. That means tomorrow morning when I wake up at 5:45 am or so it will still be dark. Bleh. Why can’t they just leave well enough alone? 

This morning Nick had a field trip with his RE class at church. He is participating in a “Neighboring Faiths” program that all 7th grade UU (Unitarian Universalists, for those of you who aren’t in the know) take part in and today’s field trip was to a service at a local Mormon church. So we had to be in the parking lot to meet his ride at 9:25 am (that’s 8:25 am for those of you who may have not remembered to turn their clocks ahead this morning.)  I knew Nick didn’t want to be up that early on a Sunday morning and even I didn’t want to be up that early but we went, like good soldiers, because we had made a commitment to go and we were keeping our commitment. 

It was a beautiful day but cold. I dropped Nick off and instead of heading home to get Clare and take her to our regular 11 am service, I elected to stay in Westport, get some breakfast and take some pictures. Did I mention it was cold? I stopped into the Starbucks on the Post Road and then I headed across the street to take pictures of the Saugatuck Bridge. It was so windy that I could hardly hold my camera still. And too cold to be out taking pictures. But I soldiered on and after a few shots, I ran back to the car to warm up. I must be a glutton for punishment. I did consider just staying in town and shopping but it was Sunday and nothing was open that early in the day. So I drove over to Compo Beach to take pictures of the Sound. It was a little less windy on the beach but still very cold. I took a few pictures and talked to some of the other foolhardy souls who were also out on the beach and then it was time to head to church for the 11 am service where I would later meet Nick.

beachweb.jpg

beachwalkweb.jpg

After church, Nick and I headed home for lunch and then the whole family headed over to the Aldrich Museum of Contemporary Art in Ridgefield. They were having an opening of 3 new exhibits. I love having such a dynamic museum right in my backyard. As always, there were things we liked and things that we didn’t.  I took this picture of the kids in the last room we visited. We had seen the artwork at another visit and liked it. But Clare was getting nudgy and you can see that in this picture I took of the kids looking at the art. Ok, Nick looking at the art.  

lookingatartweb.jpg 

Now we are home and the kids are cleaning up from dinner and we will soon be getting ready for bed. I anticipate them not being able to get to sleep and not being able to wake up in the morning. It will take us all a day or so to get used to the time change. Oh well. 

  

~ by photobella on 9 March, 2008.

One Response to “Photo of the day (Daylight savings edition)”

  1. I like the last picture because you don’t have to narrate it. It speaks for itself, especially if you have children.

    By the way, I called Laura and left her a birthday message. I did that last year too, but never heard back from her.

    Oh well, I never give up!

    JR

Leave a Reply

 
