Photo of the Day

treeweb.jpg

It was a beautiful day and I thought I’d have plenty of opportunities to take pictures. But I totally forgot that Clare had a half day of school and that I had an appointment with her teacher in the early evening and so as a result, my whole day was thrown out of whack. I spent the morning working with Nick (ok, trying to get Nick to work.) We didn’t have a lot of time because I had to go and get Clare at lunchtime. After I brought Clare home, I took advantage of the fact that the kids were entertaining each other and so amidst the peace that was occaisionally broken by screams, name calling and fighting,  I worked on the websites for the Gallery and for ZKI Communications.

Before I knew it, it was the end of the day and I hadn’t taken a single picture. But there was still light and the sky was getting interesting as I was driving home from my parent-teacher conference so I did what I have wanted to do for a very long time — I stopped to take a picture of a tree that sits in the middle of a field I pass every day. I’m usually taking Clare to or from school and there isn’t time to stop so I just keep on going. I wanted to take a picture of it the other day when Nick and I took our walk but it was a bit further than we had time for and I was getting pretty tired. So today I stopped by the side of the road and took a couple of shots before the light started to change. And I’m pretty happy that I did.

 aikadaweb.jpg 

I took pictures yesterday but by the time I got home from the kids’ Aikido class and got them settled for the night, I was just too tired to look at what I had shot or to post. I took a bunch of pictures of the class but I just didn’t have my photo mojo on.  I was determined to have at least one decent shot to show for the day so when we got back from Aikido I took some pictures of a candle that Max and Paula had sent us for Christmas. I was in a funny place and I just didn’t like anything I shot. Sometimes I just need to walk away from my pictures and look at them another day.

And today they don’t look all that bad.

 candleweb.jpg 

~ by photobella on 6 March, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
