Photo of the Day

shadowbloom.jpg

Some days are better than others for taking pictures. Today was a bit of a stretch for me. The light was there but the inspiration wasn’t. It’s just like that sometimes. But I’m taking a picture a day no matter what so here’s the ones I like.

angelcat.jpg

Funny thing about the taking at least one picture a day –  if I’m taking pictures, I rarely take just one. One leads to another and another and I always take just one more. But there is a difference between taking a picture a day and coming up with at least one picture a day that I’m willing to show anyone.

woods.jpg

That’s the distinction between a photographer and someone who just takes pictures. The person taking snapshots will show you the entire roll of film. The photographer only lets you see the good ones. I didn’t get to take pictures of everything I wanted to today. Nick took apart the couch and made himself a fort in the living room, just like the one he and Clare made back in the apartments when they were little (Nick was 8 and Clare was 5) only it was a lot neater. I wanted to take a picture of it but I was afraid that my presence and my camera would make him think about what he was doing and he would stop. So I let him do what he wanted to do and I didn’t even give it more than a glance. Then when Clare got home from school, the two of them played together in it for a briefly peaceful moment, the way they used to when they were little. It didn’t last long before they were telling each other to shut up and calling each other stupid but it was nice while it did last. I guess there are some memories that just aren’t meant to be caught on film.

~ by photobella on 31 January, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
