photo of the day (cupcake craft)

I don’t remember when I first started reading Jane Brocket’s blog, but for a very long time, she’s been a source of inspiration, not only for her lovely photography but for her incredible baking and craft ideas.  Jane’s book, The Gentle Art of Domesticity, is filled with images of her “fairy buns” that looked so lovely, I had to make them and photograph them for myself. I baked my first batch and I was hooked. After that, I baked cupcakes for holidays, birthdays and when there was nothing else I could think to photograph. I baked cupcakes when I needed a little sweetness and color in my life.

Cupcakes are fulfilling on so many levels: they are fun to make, they smell divine while baking, and they taste even better than they smell. Made with love and care, they are pretty and fun to photograph. But after the photos are taken, one is then obligated to eat said cupcakes. However, right now, in the face of a New Year and some resolutions better left unspoken (yes, I know you know what I mean,) I felt I would be much better off finding a less caloric subject.

Just so you know, I didn’t invent knitted cupcakes but I’ve long thought about making a few for myself. They look so darn cute and they are a quick and creative little project. One evening, with an urge to knit and nothing special I felt like working on, I puttered through my stash of yarn and after a few short hours, I presented my daughter with my first finished knitted baked good. “Look how cute!” I said, “And no calories, either!” I showed my son my accomplishment and he said, “You knitted a cupcake? I mean, it’s cute and all, but there really is something wrong in your head.” Maybe so. But cupcake knitting (and crocheting) is fun. And addictive. I’ve already made another one that isn’t in this picture. And you know there will be more very soon. A baker’s dozen. I’ll let you know as soon as they are done.

~ by photobella on 30 December, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

