photo of the day

Ok — what’s wrong with this picture? I have wanted to post a picture of the signs in front of a newly opened small farmstand that I pass on a somewhat regular basis. The first time I saw them I thought it was a joke. But now I think they are serious. Am I the only one who notices what is wrong here? I sure hope not. But still it’s funny. And kinda sad at the same time.

I’m pretty sure when I was young I didn’t spend much time, if any time at all, climbing trees. When Nick and I spend the day at Great Hollow at our homeschool coop there are always children in trees. After lunch when there is free time before the next class, the kids run outside to run and play and climb trees. Sometimes kids fall out of trees (but not from too far up) yet no one tells them “Don’t climb trees, it’s dangerous, you might get hurt.”  I guess it’s such a fine balance as a parent. We want our kids to be safe but not afraid. So maybe we just have to be close enough to prevent a disaster while we encourage them to go out on a limb.

Here are 4 of the 5 frogs we’ve taken in for the winter. I wonder what they are thinking of their new living arrangements. They croak occasionally and hit the glass in an effort to escape but for the most part they sit and stare and wait for the crickets Nick and I drop into the tank every 3rd day or so. They are fun to watch so far and I am committed to their care at least until the spring when I can clean out the pond where they can live happily outside in the sun.

I don’t know if I’ll do this every year but for this winter some frogs in Connecticut are having a summer vacation.

~ by photobella on 24 October, 2008.

One Response to “photo of the day”

  1. Oh, poor me, I can’t help it but proof read everything too. It is sad when people don’t know the difference of possessive apostrophes!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

